How did this tutorial come about? The way most good tutorials come about! I was personally facing this problem. I had no idea what had broken my Windows Search and Search Indexer. I just had to have it working as I used the Search feature very often. Searching on the internet really did not give me an exhaustive or satisfactory solution. So went about it the only way there was to go … the good old trial and error method. Finally got it working – and I decided to write it down.

Here’s what the package does. Stops the Windows Search Service Configures the service to start= auto Sets value of the following key to 0: Starts the Windows Search Service

It feels great Microsoft decided to automate it into a Fix-It MSI package (http://blogs.technet.com/fixit4me/archive/2009/04/24/reset-windows-search-to-defaults.aspx) and what makes it even better is being told that it’s a First MVP Fix It!

Read the announcement on Technet here – http://blogs.technet.com/southasiamvp/archive/2009/04/27/an-mvp-can-fix-it.aspx. Thank you Fix it, Team!  Go here if you want to find out how to become a Microsoft MVP or MCC.

First MVP Fix It  Troubleshooting Windows Search   Indexing Errors - 78First MVP Fix It  Troubleshooting Windows Search   Indexing Errors - 32